An Overview of Florida Taxes

discretionary sales surtax

You can view the sales tax rates for various cities in Florida here. Florida doesn’t collect sales tax on purchases of most prescription drugs and groceries. Prepared Food is subject to special sales tax rates under Florida law. In most states, necessities such as groceries, clothes, and drugs are exempted from the sales tax or charged at a lower sales tax rate. Florida’s official nickname is “The Sunshine State,” but it may as well be “The Low-Tax State.” That’s because Florida is the only state east of the Mississippi that doesn’t collect income taxes of any kind.


In the other states, the program is sponsored by Community Federal Savings Bank, to which we’re a service provider. With Wise for Business, you can get a better deal for paying supplier invoices and buying goods overseas. We’ll always give you the same rate you see on Google, combined with our low, upfront fee — so you’ll never have to worry about getting an unfair exchange rate. Simply download the lookup tool and enter your state, in this case Florida. Add your county or city – and the tool will do the rest.

Florida Estate Tax

If your what is the income tax in florida itemized deductions are less than the standard deduction, the calculator will use the standard deduction. For satellite-based services like DirecTV, the rate is even higher at 11.44%. So if you are a big spender on high-speed internet, multiple phone lines and the top-of-the-line cable TV packages, expect a slightly higher price-tag when it comes time to pay up. That means that if you buy a product outside of the state and no tax is collected on that purchase, you are required to file a Sales and Use Tax Return with the Florida Department of Revenue.


Almost 22 percent of African-Americans and nearly 18 percent of Latinos in Florida live below the poverty level, which is $25,094 for a family of four. These Floridians are likely to pay the highest share of their incomes in state and local taxes, despite the disproportionate impacts on their incomes and livelihoods. There are yearly tax holidays set by the Florida legislature during which no sales taxes are collected, often during the holiday season or sometimes preceding hurricane season. Back-to-school tax holidays often exempt common school supplies like clothing and books. Florida collects state sales tax on most material purchases as well as on the rental of houses/apartments, rental of material goods, admissions fees, and services such as pest control and cleaning.

No one offers more ways to get tax help than H&R Block.

Though our calculator can do most of the work, here are some helpful links to further your understanding of payroll in Florida. Rates for employers who have been in business for more than 10 quarters can range from 0.10% (or $7.00) to 5.4% (or $378) per employee. Please enter your employee’s withholding information. For salaried employees, gross pay equals their annual salary divided by the number of pay periods per year. For hourly employees, gross pay equals the number of hours worked multiplied by their hourly wage. | Whether you’re already living in the Sunshine State or considering a move there, here’s what you should know about state taxes in Florida.

  • Other items including gasoline, alcohol, and cigarettes are subject to various Florida excise taxes in addition to the sales tax.
  • So, if you can use a little more help adding up the numbers, check out some of the calculators listed below.
  • Please verify all rates with your state’s Department of Revenue before making any financial or tax decisions.
  • Widow Exemptions of $500 are available to widows and widowers who have not remarried.
  • Your bonus will be taxed the same as your regular pay, including income taxes, Medicare, and Social Security.
  • Please enter your employee’s withholding information.

Visit the Department’s Reemployment Taxwebpage for more information. The Florida corporate income/franchise tax rate is reduced from 5.5% to 4.458% for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, but before January 1, 2021. The tax rate is further reduced to 3.535% for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, but before January 1, 2022. For more information, visit the Department’s Annual Resale Certificate for Sales Taxwebpage. The certificate allows business owners, or their representatives, to buy or rent property or services tax free when the property or service is resold or re-rented. Many out-of-state businesses, such as large internet retailers, already collected and remitted sales and use taxes to the Florida Department of Revenue prior to passage of Chapter , Laws of Florida.

Write your comment